International News: Rishi Sunak and Lizz Truss reach final round to become next British Prime Minister

Rishi Sunak won 137 votes and Truss got 113 votes in the final round, while Penny Mordaunt with 105 votes lost out. Both candidates will now go to the next stage of the contest, a vote by Tory party members,

with the winner succeeding Boris Johnson as prime minister in early September. The vote closes at 5pm on 2 September, with the winner to be announced on 5 September.

They would most likely formally become prime minister a day afterwards.

Related Posts

1 of 1,910